Sunday, 1 March 2009

Crippled Black Phoenix - 200 Tons of Bad Luck

Yes! It has been a while since I have heard a band that has such awesome guitar licks and anthemic epic rock choruses that just make you want to nod your head along to. There are a hell of a lot of bands out there attempting to make music not even half as good as Crippled Black Phoenix. They have taken the much overplayed genre of progressive rock and have produced an album that really does bridge a huge gap between them and other contemporary bands in their genre. They are a super group of sorts. Formed by ex Electric Wizard drummer Julian Greaves and Mogwai bassist Dominic Aitchinson, along with a whole heap of other musicians and signed to Invada Records (run by Geoff Barrow) There are a lot of big names checked before even listening.
It is a long album featuring twelve tracks mostly ranging over five minutes long. Sounding somewhere in between an angry Pink Floyd and a very British Tool, if they played around with old synths, there is definitely a calling for new bands in this genre and Crippled Black Phoenix will undoubtedly be at the forefront of this.

The highlight is the breathtaking 18 minute long 'Time Of Ye Life/Born For Nothing/Paranoid Arm Of Narcoleptic Empire' The title is a mouthful as is the song. Starting with a quote from Evil Knievel and building up with layers and layers of instruments only for the song to change complete direction 10 minutes through to take on a much darker and Proggy feel, expect drum, guitar and synth solos and a hell of a lot of key changes.

200 Tons Of Bad Luck is out on the 14th of April. It is well worth a listen.

No comments: